Who says Australia is a Clever Country?

December 11, 2011


It was a writing quite a few decades ago, actually. I’m not real good with history, but I believe he was being satirical. The terms been used many times since, seriously, not so seriously and politically.  I’ve been challenged by a friend to write a poem about a terrible story about a man name Marlon Noble.

I read about this man’s terrible story early last week, on Facebook. I know many interesting people on Facebook, people more learned or educated than me, often. People though who share ideas in politics with me.

Marlon Noble’s story is about alleged child abuse, racism, ignorance and terrible miscarriages of justice. I’m shocked, but know I shouldn’t be shocked, that stories like this one still occur in our Clever Country. Marlon Noble was accused of sexual abuse, and the whole thing went from bad to worse at that moment.

If you want to read the awful story, look here. It’s not a pretty story, and it should get you thinking deeply about what kind of country you wish to live in. I have deep feelings about child abuse, having been abused at a child, but I have even deeper feelings about justice.

I’ve read online that this poor man is going to be released now, but it seems like it’s far, far too late. Australia has a very long way to go before we could ever truthfully be called a Clever Country. I hope Marlon is able to find a life worth living, after he is released from prison.

 

One Response to “Who says Australia is a Clever Country?”

  1. dewnath said

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

