What Should We Do With Them Once We Catch them?

October 20, 2011


I’m currently reading ‘Sex Offenders and Preventative Detention – Politics, Policy and Practice’ by Bernadette McSherry and Patrick Keyzer.

It’s been an interesting read so far, looking in particular at how these issues has been dealt with in three different jurisdictions. I’m interested to see what the final conclusions are. Reading is only going in slow sections though – I feel that not overdoing it will help me to stay OK with some of the things I’m reading.

I’m a person who doesn’t believe in simply locking people up, I believe society needs to do more than just that. Some people who commit crimes have problems that have caused them to not be able to see better ways of doing things. Maybe I’m a bit naïve about this, but the statistics on detention certainly don’t convince me otherwise.

Punishment without any other help is never going to show criminals better ways. I hope this book will show me ideas that can work or/and have worked. As one person, I can still be an advocate, we all can have that role, if we know better ways.

I’ll continue reading and report back on this site when I have more to say.

4 Responses to “What Should We Do With Them Once We Catch them?”

  1. this is a topic that won’t go away; it has been extensively covered — from a Florida perspective — in a series of articles in ‘The Miami Herald’ from which Russel Banks has drawn material for his powerful novel, ‘Lost Memory of Skin’

  2. johnlmalone said

    I’m reading an article about life in a small rural US town where the doctor treats meth patients with confidence ; he explains: “Someday I might be on the side of the road, and the person who pulls me out is going to be a meth user.” He adds that residents of such towns learn to be nonjudgmental, because contact is so intense

    • gardendog said

      I think the most important thing to always remember is that people are still people. Whether they’re drug users/abuser, sex offenders, bank robbers, whatever, they’re still people. It’s important to remember that. It’s the same with all of the marginalised groups in society, they might be people with alcohol abuse problems, or with disabilities, or low IQ, they’re still people and deserve to be treated with respect.

      If people are treated badly because of one thing, and never given a chance to show the other things they are, well, how could we expect good things from those people? If you’re told you’re trash every day of your life, why should anyone expect fantastically good things to come from you?

      We get back what we give. Maybe not always, but certainly sometimes. It doesn’t hurt to be polite/nice/kind to people.

Leave a Reply

